Wicked September Equinox is upon us – 23 September!

It’s almost that time of the year – the September Equinox

Sept 1st is considered the start of the fall by meteorologists for record keeping purposes.

However the autumnal equinox signals the beginning of astronomical fall. This year, that happens this Wednesday, Sept. 23.

The exact times for the USA this year:

  • Eastern Daylight Time: 4:21 a.m.
  • Central Daylight Time: 3:21 a.m.
  • Mountain Daylight Time: 2:21 a.m.
  • Pacific Daylight Time: 1:21 a.m

In Latin, the word “equinox” means “equal night” – “equi” meaning “equal” and “nox” meaning “night.”

Dwindling daylight, falling temperatures

As the days continue to shorten and the sun stays lower in the sky, temperatures begin to drop significantly.

After Wednesday the hours of daylight will grow shorter until the winter solstice, which begins at 11:49 p.m. EST on Dec. 21. This will be the darkest day of the year, meaning the day with the least amount of daylight.

 

tothesun

 

see our prior post about day and night longboards